Senior Nations Cup – Appleby College in Oakville, Ontario – August 2-13, 2011

With the excitement of the U20 Nations Cup its even more exciting that we will continue to see more International Rugby in August!

Vote for who you think will win the 2011 Senior Nations Rugby Cup!

from Rugby Canada:

Rugby Canada is thrilled to be hosting this year’s International Senior Woman’s Rugby Tournament, The Nations Cup, along with proud supporter Cogeco Cable Canada, internet, cable and telephone provider. The two week tournament, will be taking place August 2nd to August 13th, and will consist of four days of rugby action; three match days – August 2nd, 9th and the finals on August 13th – will be taking place at Appleby College in Oakville, Ontario and one match day – August 5th – will be hosted at the Chatham Kent Community Athletic Complex behind Chatham Kent Secondary School in Chatham, Ontario.

The Nations Cup is an annual international women’s rugby tournament, played each year between top international rugby sides, including Canada, England and the USA. The tournament features both a senior and U20 division. The first tournament took place in 2008 with the U20 competition hosted at Appleby College in Oakville, Ontario, Canada in July, and the senior tournament being played in Esher, London, England in August. In 2009 the senior event was held in Canada at Appleby College and the U20 tournament was held in England. This year’s U20 Women’s Nations Cup is being held in the USA while, Rugby Canada is pleased to once again be hosting the Senior Women’s Nations Cup at Appleby College in Oakville, Ontario.

The four teams participating in the 2011 Woman’s Senior Nations Cup are all ranked within the top 10 in the world coming out of the 2010 Women’s Rugby World Cup last year. The teams competing to be the 2011 Nations Cup Champions are the National Senior Women’s teams from South Africa (ranked 10th in the world), Canada (ranked 6th in the world), USA (ranked 5th in the world) and England (ranked 2nd in the world).


Stacy Baker (Keystone), Libby Berg (Minnesota Valkyries), Stacey Bridges (At-Large), Jamie Burke (Beantown), Lisa Butts (Nor Cal Triple Threat), Sarah Chobot (Minnesota Valkyries), Kate Daley (Chicago North Shore), Lauren Daly (At-Large), Farrah Douglas (Washington DC Furies), Devin Keller (Keystone), Lynelle Kugler (Twin City Amazons), Laura Miller (Washington DC Furies), Shaina Turley (San Diego Surfers), Kittery Wagner (Beantown), Sadie Anderson (Penn State), Sylvia Braaten (Twin City Amazons), Rebecca Brafman (New York Rugby Club), Amy Daniels (Beantown), Katie Dowty (Beantown), Victoria Folayan (Berkeley All-Blues), Pam Kosanke (Chicago North Shore), Jennifer Lui (Chicago North Shore), Kaelene Lundstrum (Twin City Amazons), Kim Magrini (Keystone), Vanesha McGee (New York Rugby Club), Samantha Pankey (James River)& Carrie White (Seattle Rugby).

Jessica Belchos – Markham Irish Canadians (Innisfil, ON), Marie Bosco – Ottawa Irish (Ottawa, ON), Andrea Burk – Capilano RFC (North Vancouver, BC), Kim Donaldson – Burnaby Lake (Vancouver, BC), Jess Dovanne – Valkyries (Victoria, BC), Arielle Dubisette – Toronto Nomads (Ajax, ON), Corinne Jacobson – Burnaby Lake Rugby Club (Vancouver, BC), Maria Jaworski – Calgary Hornets RFC (Calgary, AB), Shannon Kane – Velox Valkyries (Victoria, BC), Jen Kish – Edmonton Rockers (Edmonton, AB), Ghislaine Landry – Toronto Scottish (Toronto, ON), Ashley MacDonald – Lethbridge RFC (Corran Ban, PEI), Kayla Mack – Wild Oats (Saskatoon, SK), Mandy Marchak- Capilano RFC & Saracens, UK (Vancouver, BC), Brittany Orr – Lethbridge RC (Lethbridge, AB), Cheryl Phillips – Toronto Scottish RFC (Toronto, ON), Marie-Pier Pinault Reid – Club de Rugby de Québec (Québec, QC), Danielle Rowlands – Calgary Hornets (Colonsay, SK), Kelly Russell – Toronto Nomads (Bolton, ON), Laura Russell – Toronto Nomads (Bolton, ON), Laura Stoughton – Calgary Hornets RFC (Calgary, AB), Julia Sugawara – Burnaby Lake (Vancouver, BC), Brandi Van Eeuwen – Lethbridge RC (Duncan, BC), Brittany Waters – Meraloma Athletic Club (Vancouver, BC), Kelsey Willoughby – Lethbridge RC (Lethbridge, AB) & Julianne Zussman- Town of Mount Royal RFC, ( Montreal, QB).

South Africa
Pulane Motloung, Yolanda Meiring (Blue Bulls), Mandisa Williams, Fundiswa Plaatjie, Ziyanda Tywaleni, Nolusindiso Booi, Nwabisa Ngxatu (Border), Daphne Scheepers, Lamla Momoti, Zandile Nojoko, Phumeza Gadu, Zenay Jordaan, Nomathamsanqa Faleni, Namhla Siyolo, Cebisa Kula, Sisphosethu Tshangana (Eastern Province), Dolly Mavumengwana, Lusanda Mtiya (KwaZulu-Natal), Natasha Hofmeester, Nedene Botha, Laurian Johannes, Denita Wentzel, Janine Felix (Western Province), Onicca Moaga (SWD). Team Management: Denver Wannies (Coach), Dumisani Mhani (Assistant-coach), Denzil van Heerden (Biokineticist), Tanushree Pillay (physiotherapist), Orna Prinsloo (Team Manager).

Claire Allan (Richmond), Margaret Alphonsi (Saracens), Rowena Burnfield (Richmond), Rochelle Clark (Worcester), Emma Croker (Richmond), Rebecca Essex (Richmond), Heather Fisher (Worcester), VictoriaFleetwood (Lichfield), Sophie Hemming (Bristol), Natasha Hunt (Lichfield), Sarah Hunter (Lichfield), Laura Keates (Worcester), Jane Leonard (Wasps), La ToyaMason (Wasps), Francesca Matthews (Richmond), Joanna McGilchrist (Wasps), Sarah McKenna (Old Albanians), Katy McLean (Darlington Mowden Park), Katherine Merchant (Worcester), Claire Purdy (Wasps), Alice Richardson (Richmond), Georgina Roberts (Darlington Mowden Park), Emily Scarratt (Lichfield), TamaraTaylor (Darlington Mowden Park), Danielle Waterman (Worcester) & Kay Wilson (Richmond).

24 thoughts on “Senior Nations Cup – Appleby College in Oakville, Ontario – August 2-13, 2011”

  1. Thank you for the awesome breakdown of the game!! Concise and descriptive…perfect!! Great job USA ladies, keep your heads up and your hearts pumping, YOU’RE AMAZING!!!


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: