Women’s Clubs Set to Collide at Nationals

from USA Rugby:

Boulder, Colo.– The teams for the Women’s Premier League and the Women’s Divisions I and II Club National Championships have all been set. The Emirates Airline USA Rugby 2011 Women’s Club Championships will be held in Virginia Beach, Va. at the Princess Anne Soccer Complex from November 11-13, 2011. Fourteen elite women’s rugby teams will aim to assert their supremacy over the their opposition, promising some thrilling elimination rugby action.

Select matches will be delay broadcasted by the YSC Media team on USA Rugby’s UStream channel. To see the broadcast schedule, go here.

Women’s DII Club

In the Division II competition, eight teams from across the country will converge in Virginia Beach to decide a National Champion through three rounds of playoffs over the course of the weekend. The quarterfinals will be played on Friday, the semifinals will be played the next day (Saturday).  The two undefeated teams through those two rounds will fight for the Championship on Sunday morning at 11 a.m. ET.

For more information on the Women’s DII National Championship please click here.

Women’s DI Club

The Women’s Division I finalists have already been decided by a round of playoffs and now the Glendale Raptors and Chicago North Shore will meet to play for the National Championship. The two teams are coming off of strong performances in the playoff rounds and even stronger performances in the regular season. Both Glendale and North Shore hope to claim victory on Sunday afternoon with kickoff at 1 p.m. ET.

For more information about the Women’s Division I National Championship please click here.

Women’s Premier League

With relegation posing a threat to four teams in the Women’s Premier League, the National Championship weekend in Virginia Beach will not only decide who will reign as champion of the WPL but also who will stay in the competition next year. Every team in the WPL will be present at Virginia Beach.

The top two teams from each division (the Berkeley All Blues and Beantown from the Blue Division and the San Diego Surfers and Twin Cities Amazons from the Red Division) will compete in semifinals on Friday while the bottom two teams from each division (New York Women RFC and Minnesota Valkyries from the Red Division and the DC Furies and Keystone form the Blue Division) will compete in consolation matches to avoid relegation.

For more information about the Women’s Premier League National Championship, please click here.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: