Memphis Women’s Rugby Team Headed To First D2 National Championship Tournament

To view the D2 Championship Pools and Schedule, go here.

Media Contact:
Charise Hansen
(901) 246-6963

Local women’s rugby team, Memphis Flamingos, headed to first national championship tourney

(Memphis, Tenn.) — The Memphis Flamingos travel to Virginia Beach, Va. for the Women’s Division II Nationals Tournament Friday, Nov. 11 through Sunday, Nov. 13. The tournament appearance is the team’s first time since its formation in 2004. The Flamingos, made up of 30 women from the greater-Memphis area, finished the season undefeated, outscoring opponents 195-35 in nine games. The team clinched the USA South title Sunday, Oct. 9 with a 17-8 victory over New Orleans.

“Rugby is the quickest growing team sport in the U.S.,” notes Flamingos reserve prop Charise Hansen. “We have a chance to become national champions and make the city of Memphis proud.”

“Over the past seven years, we have fought to overcome injuries and even the death of a teammate,” she explained. “We are not just a team; we are a family.” Jennifer Hanna, who played inside center for the team, passed away Friday, May 22, from injuries sustained in an automobile accident outside Mobile, Ala.

The Flamingos will hold practices at Tobey Park from 6:30-9 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 3 and Monday, Nov. 7 before departing from Memphis International Airport Thursday, Nov. 10 for the three-day championship event.

For more information about the clinic or Memphis Women’s Rugby, contact Amy Rogan at (insert contact info), or visit For more information about the USA Rugby and the Women’s Division II National Tournament, visit

About the Memphis Women’s Rugby (Flamingos)
A 501(c)3 sports club, Memphis Women’s Rugby was founded in 2004 by a group of women looking to start a women’s teeam to Memphis. Current team members: Katie Abernathy. Abby Loebenberg, Alyson Allen, Jessica Magro, Sydney Bowers, Savannah Oliver, Taryn Causey, Melissa Prouty, Elizabeth Chancellor, Barbara Radebaugh, Cheryl Coulson, Amber Ragland, Jacque Davis, Stephanie Ragsdale, Jean Denniston, Amy Rogan, Jane Dewire, Hallie Rose, Jamie Dietsch, Katie Russo, Cerrin Eldridge, Whitney Tate, Jennifer Fox, Alison Vanelli, Claire Guerin, Adrianna Weber, Charise Hansen, Christina White, Torey Hunkus and Astrid Zellner. Coaches: Tim Brennan (Head Coach), Ralph Parks (Assistant) and Brooke Holland (Assistant).

To view the D2 Championship Pools and Schedule, go here.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: