111 countries – and counting. Women’s rugby worldwide

The previous post mentioned that the IRB had said that women’s rugby is played in about 80 countries.

This is a slight underestimate. In fact women’s rugby is played at international level in 111 countries – with several more on the verge of joining them. The map below shows the true global spread of the game:

Women's rugby worldwide 2011

Compared to other women’s team sports, only women’s soccer is played at international level in more countries.

The list… Andorra, Arabian Gulf (Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, and the United Arab Emirates), Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Bermuda, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cayman Is, Chile, China, Columbia, Cook Is, Croatia, Czech Rep, Denmark, Egypt, England, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Guadeloupe, Guam, Guyana, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Moldova, Morocco, Netherlands, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Niue, Norway, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Samoa, Scotland, Senegal, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Afruca, Spain, Sri Lanka, St Lucia, St Vincent, Sweden, Switzerland, Tahiti, Taiwan, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Uganda, Ukraine, Uruguay, USA, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Wales, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

8 thoughts on “111 countries – and counting. Women’s rugby worldwide”

  1. Arabian Gulf RU doesn’t exist anymore. Partially replaced by UAE Rugby Association : 

    women sevens also played in Quatar : http://www.doharfc.com/ladies-info and Kuwait http://q8scorpions.com/ but no national teams for now


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: