2017 – 2018 HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series

The 2017 – 2018 HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series includes five stops with action kicking off in Dubai on November 30 – December 1, 2017. The second stop is in Sydney, Australia on January 26-28, 2018. Teams have a bit of a break but will gather in Kitakyushu, Japan on April 21-22, 2018. From there teams will return to Langford, Canada on May 12-13, 2018. The last event will be in Paris, France June 8-10, 2018.

With Rugby World Cup Sevens 2018 looming large next July, teams will also be battling it out for their seeding at the prestigious tournament which takes place in San Francisco. Series points scored at the first two rounds in Dubai and Sydney will be added to the final standings points from 2016-17 to ascertain the final seedings at RWC Sevens 2018.

New Zealand enter Dubai as reigning series and tournament champions following an almost perfect 35 out of 36 match wins in 2016-17. Head coach Allan Bunting has named a strong side to defend their title, including the recently named World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year Michaela Blyde. Captain Sarah Goss is looking for consistency in performance across the two days in Dubai as the team begins an action-packed seven months.

Schedule & Results


1Australia 7s2020161874
2New Zealand 7s1218202070
3France 7s1012181454
4Canada 7s141621244
5USA 7s18641644
6Russia 7s161412143
7Spain 7s81014335
8England 7s648826
9Ireland 7s4831025
10Fiji 7s2310621
11Japan 7s12148
12China 7s66
13South Africa 7s33
14Brazil 7s22
15Papua New Guinea 7s11

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: