Commonwealth Games – April 13-15, 2018

The Commonwealth Games begin next week, and includes the Games first women’s sevens tournament. The Commonwealth games first event was held in 1930, and has taken place every four years since then (with the exception of 1942 and 1946, which were cancelled due to World War II).

Rugby sevens was an optional sport that was included for 2002 and 2006; it was then made a ‘Core’ sport by the Commonwealth Games Federation, necessitating its appearance at all future games from the 2010 Games onward. New Zealand dominated the men’s tournament at its inception until 2014 when they lost for the first time at the Games, playing South Africa in the gold medal match.

Up until the 2014 Games, rugby sevens was a male-only sport at the Commonwealth Games, but a female tournament has been added to the program for the 2018 Commonwealth Games in Australia

Even with the tournament taking place in the middle of the HSBC World Series, the teams are using this event as another way to prep for the Rugby World Cup 7s in July.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: