Round 2 Match Previews & Predictions – 2021 RWC

Round 2 of the 2021 Rugby World Cup are upon us! Check out our match previews and predictions below. 

To see the entire 2021 RWC schedule, how to watch and see results, go here.

Can’t make it to New Zealand? Watch in the USA on Peacock for $19.99/yr (limited time offer). Excludes current Premium & Premium Plus subscribers. Additional restrictions and terms apply or check out the other ways to watch here.

@yscrugby

2021 RWC - Round 2 Previews and Predictions for SCOvAUS, USAvJAP and FRAvENG.

♬ original sound - YSCRugby

Scotland vs Australia – Oct 14 9:00 PM CST / Oct 15 3:00 PM NZST

Preview

10th ranked Scotland is coming off a very close match with Wales where they lost at the last moment and will now face 7th ranked Australia. Scotland will continue leaning on their captain, Dr. Rachel Malcom and her 24 tackles in her first match. Australia had the majority of possession, and won the most set pieces against the Black Ferns. They will look to continue this trend but perhaps play a bit less defense.

Prediction

We predict Australia to win by 12.

USA vs Japan – Oct 14 11:30 PM CST / Oct 15 5:30 PM NZST

Preview

6th ranked USA will look to hold off 13th ranked Japan. The Eagles are coming off a strong showing where they dominated the stat sheet but couldn’t turn that into points.  Japan had an outstanding 82% tackle success rate in their match against Canada an d will look to have more ball in hand time.

Prediction

We predict that the USA will win by 15 points.

France v England – Oct 15 2:00 AM CST / Oct 15 8:00 PM NZST

Preview

4th ranked France will see 1st ranked England in a highly anticipated match up. England has won their last three match ups with France with close score lines. The Red Roses will continue to rely on their clinical lineout and driving maul while we expect France to use their tactical kicking and strong defense.

Prediction

We predict that England will win by 10 points.

@yscrugby

2021 RWC - Round 2 Preview and Predictions for ITAvCAN, WALvCAN & WALvNZL #RWC2021

♬ original sound - YSCRugby

Italy v Canada – Oct 15 6:45 PM CST / Oct 16 12:45 PM NZST

Preview

5th ranked Italy will battle 3rd ranked Canada. Italy came from behind to defeat the USA last week and will look to play on the front foot this weekend. The Maple Leafs broke the gain line 96 times last week and will want to continue that trend.

Prediction

We predict Canada will win by 10 points.

Wales v New Zealand – Oct 15 9:15 PM CST / Oct 15 3:15 PM NZST

Preview

9th ranked Wales will face off against 2nd ranked New Zealand. Wales had a stellar 138 runs with 83 of those crossing the gainline in their match last weekend. New Zealand also had a fast running match with 130 runs and 100 carries over the gainline.

Prediction

We predict New Zealand will win by 50 points.

Fiji v South Africa – Oct 15 11:45 PM CST / Oct 16 5:45 PM NZST

Preview

21st ranked Fiji will face 11th ranked South Africa. This will be first time that these sides have faced off in a Rugby World Cup and it is anticipated to be very exciting. The Springboks like to kick for territory where Fiji prefers ball in hand and excels in transition ball.

Prediction

We predict Fiji will win by 15 points.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: