QF Match Previews & Predictions – 2021 Rugby World Cup

The Quarter-finals of the 2021 Rugby World Cup are upon us! Pool play is behind us with only 8 teams remaining in the Quarter-final’s. 4 matches remain with winners moving on to the Semi-finals and losers heading home. Who will survive?

Check out our match previews and predictions below.

To see the entire 2021 RWC schedule, how to watch and see results, go here.

Can’t make it to New Zealand? Watch in the USA on Peacock for $19.99/yr (limited time offer). Excludes current Premium & Premium Plus subscribers. Additional restrictions and terms apply or check out the other ways to watch here.

@yscrugby

Round 4 Preview and Predictions for the 2021 Rugby World Cup Quarter-finals #RWC2021

♬ original sound - YSCRugby

France vs Italy – Oct 28 10:30 PM CST / Oct 29 4:30 PM NZST

Preview

4th ranked France will see 5h ranked Italy in the first quarter-final of the weekend. This is Italy’s first RWC QF (male or female) and they most recently defeated France in a warmup match. They will carry this with them as they look to cause the first “upset” of the tournament. France is determined to reach their eighth Rugby World Cup semi-final and will rely on leading try scorer Emilie Boulard.

Prediction

We predict that France will win by 12 points.

New Zealand vs Wales – Oct 29 1:30 AM CST / Oct 29 7:30 PM NZST

Preview

2nd ranked New Zealand will battle 8th ranked Wales. In the pool phases, the Black Ferns beat Wales 56-12, but the Welsh kept them scoreless for the opening 17 minutes. Wales will continue their physical upfront play and New Zealand will look to meet that challenge.

Prediction

We predict New Zealand will win by 40 points.

England vs Australia – Oct 29 7:30 PM CST / Oct 30 1:30 PM NZST

Preview

1st ranked England will face off against 7th ranked Australia on day 2 of the quarter-finals. The Red Roses have won their last 28 matches and the Wallaroos will look to spoil the dinner party. However, the Red Roses have beaten Australia in their last five meetings so this will be a tall order. The France revealed some vulnerabilities in the England attack but Simon Middleton surely hasn’t slept on that revelation…

Prediction

We predict that England will win by 25 points.

Canada vs USA – Oct 29 10:30 PM CST / Oct 30 4:30 PM NZST

Preview

3rd ranked Canada will battle 6th ranked USA in what most expect will be the closest match of the weekend. This match is a repeat of last Sunday’s Pool B match, which Canada won 29-14 to keep their perfect RWC record. Canada have won the last six meetings between the sides but the Americans are relishing the opportunity for a rematch and believe they can cause the upset.

Prediction

We predict Canada will win by 7 points.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: