IRB Women’s Challenge Cup Sevens (London) – May 12-13, 2012 – Schedule, Teams and Other Details

England hoists the Hong Kong 7s Trophy

The third IRB-sanctioned tournament of 2011/12, which runs alongside the Marriott London Sevens, the final round of the HSBC Sevens World Series, will see 12 invited teams from six continents compete for the prized Cup. England were crowned champions in Hong Kong last month, while Canada took the inaugural title in Dubai in December.

“The IRB Women’s Sevens Challenge Cup events have proven a hit with fans, with the teams and with broadcasters, with thrilling and competitive events in Dubai and Hong Kong played in front of record crowds for the Women’s Game,” said IRB Women’s Development Manager Susan Carty.

“Women’s Rugby continues to go from strength to strength and the enthusiasm and appetite for these Challenge Cup events have underscored the IRB’s commitment to deliver a Women’s Sevens Series in 2012/13 that will bring together the finest Women’s players in the world.”

“Once again we have invited leading international Sevens teams to participate, including nations such as France and Portugal, who will get their first taste of the Challenge Cup format as we build towards Rugby Sevens’ Olympic Games debut in 2016.”

The Marriott London Sevens is the final round of the HSBC Sevens World Series, and England captain Michaela Staniford is looking forward to playing in the groundbreaking Challenge Cup on home soil at The Cardinal Vaughan Memorial School and Twickenham Stadium.

“Playing in front of a big crowd will always lift a team but what all the girls are looking forward to is a crowd that will be behind them and the opportunity to show the home crowd what we can do. We want to be a team the England Rugby fans can be proud of and continue to support. The team will be doing everything we can to get to the semis and the final to be able to play on the best pitch in the world,” said Staniford.

Rugby fans will be able to watch the pool games of the IRB Challenge Cup Sevens on the neighboring Cardinal Vaughan Memorial School pitches with the semi finals and the final taking centre stage on the famous Twickenham Stadium pitch.

Tickets are now available for the Marriott London Sevens weekend passes starting from £30, single day tickets from £18 and children’s tickets at £5 each day. Visit or telephone 0044 (0)161 385 1420. (Tickets are subject to availability and booking fees apply).

Schedule & Pools


Who will win London 7s? Vote now! View all the Questions we have put up at Facebook Questions.

Jessica Dovanne – Velox Valkyries (Victoria, BC)
Megan Gibbs – Markham Irish Canadians (Barrie, ON)
Magali Harvey – Club de Rugby de Quebec / St. Francis-Xavier University (Quebec City, QC)
Jen Kish – Edmonton Rockers (Edmonton, AB)
Ghislaine Landry – Toronto Scottish RFC (Toronto, ON)
Mandy Marchak – Capilano RFC (North Vancouver, BC / Winnipeg, MN)
Barbara Mervin – Velox Valkyries (Victoria, BC)
Kayla Moleschi – University of Lethbridge / University of Lethbridge (Williams Lake, BC)
Cheryl Phillips – Toronto Scottish RFC (Toronto, ON)
Kelly Russell – Toronto Nomads (Bolton, ON)
Ashley Steacy – Lethbridge Rugby Club (Lethbridge, AB)
Brittany Waters – Meraloma Athletic Club (Vancouver, BC)
Kelsey Willoughby – Lethbridge Rugby Club / University of Lethbridge (Lethbridge, AB)
Julianne Zussman- Town of Mount Royal RFC, (Montreal, QB)

Name (Club; Hometown)
Kaelene Lundstrum (USA Rugby; Bird Island, Minn.)
Deven Owsiany (USA Rugby; Royersford, Pa.)
Jillion Potter (USA Rugby; Austin, Texas)
Katie Dowty (USA Rugby; San Ramon, California)
Kimber Rozier (USA Rugby; Raleigh, N.C.)
Nathalie Marchino (Berkeley All-Blues; Geneva, Switzerland)
Vanesha McGee (USA Rugby; Ewing, N.J.)
Meya Bizer (At Large; Woodlands, Texas)
Kelly Griffin (USA Rugby; Berkeley, Calif.)
Akalaini “Bui” Barivilala (USA Rugby; Honolulu, Hawaii)
Ashley Okonta (Notre Dame; South Bend, Ind.)
Erica Cavanaugh (NOVA; Glen Allen, Va.)

Rachael Burford
Heather Fisher
Sonia Green
Natasha Hunt
Sarah McKenna
Katherine Merchant
Isabelle Noel-Smith
Alice Richardson
Emily Scarratt
Michaela Staniford (C)
Joanne Watmore
Kay Wilson

ALLAINMAT Céline (Rennes)
AMIEL Audrey (Montpellier)
BISCARRAT Pauline (Bobigny)
CANAL Claire (Perpignan)
DELAS Laura (Tarbes)
DI MUZIO Gina (Lille)
DI MUZIO Laura (Lille)
GRASSINEAU Camille (Bordeaux)
GUEUCIER Clémence (Bobigny)
HORTA Fanny (Perpignan)
LADAGNOUS Caroline (Lons)
LAGOUGINE Anaïs (Bordeaux)
LANGELFELD Cathy (Perpignan)
LE DUFF Christelle (Perpignan)
LIEVRE Marion (Bobigny)
MAYANS Marjorie (Saint Orens)
PELLE Chloé (Lille)
PERTUS Alexandra (Lille)
THOMAS Rose (Bordeaux)
VAUPRE Amandine (Caen)

SARTINI Estelle (Manager)
COURTEIX David (Entraîneur)
LOMBARTEIX Eric (Entraîneur)
ROBINEAU Julien (Préparateur physique)
GEIGER Pascal (Médecin)
AVRIL Brigitte (Kinésithérapeute)

JOANA BORLIDO (Agrária, Coimbra)
RAQUEL FREITAS (Agrária, Coimbra)
MARTA MOREIRA (Agrária, Coimbra)
CARLOTA GOUVEIA (Boavista, Oporto)
DANIELA CORREIA (Boavista, Oporto)
JOANA AMORIM (Boavista, Oporto)
MARTA FERREIRA (Técnico, Lisbon)
ISABEL OZORIO (Técnico, Lisbon)
LEONOR AMARAL (Técnico, Lisbon)
JOANA VIEIRA (Técnico, Lisbon)
CATARINA ANTUNES (Benfica, Lisboa)
CÁTIA JOÃO (Benfica, Lisboa)

Stand By
SARA SILVA (Técnico, Lisbon)
VERA SIMÕES (Agrária, Coimbra)

Angélica Gevaerd – SPAC
Ayna Christovam – SPAC
Bárbara Rodrigues Santiago – Niterói RFC
Beatriz Pereira da Silva – Desterro RC
Júlia Albino Sardá – Desterro RC
Juliana Esteves Santos – Bandeirantes RC
Maíra Bravo Behrendt – SPAC
Maíra Magdaleno da Ros – Desterro RC
Mariana Barbosa Ramalho – SPAC
Paula Harumi Ishibashi – SPAC
Vanessa das Chagas – Desterro RC
Vanessa Gardellim – São José RC

Iliseva Batibasaga
Debbie Hodgkinson
Sharni Williams
Emma Gillogly
Shannon Parry
Shontelle Stowers
Tricia Brown
Amy Turner
Bo De La Cruz
Rebecca Tavo (c)
Emilee Cherry
Alicia Quirk

Linda Frannssen (c)
Mara Moberg
Dorien Eppink
Inge Visser
Joyce van Altena
Anne Hielckert
Lorraine Laros
Annemarije van Rossum
Pien Selbeck
Kelly van Harskamp
Yale Belder
Alexia Mavroudis


No mention of broadcast at this time….

WhatsApp chat