Logo Revealed for Women’s Rugby World Cup 2017!

Women's Rugby World Cup 2017 - Ireland

The Women’s Rugby World Cup takes place next year in Ireland and will be hosted by the Irish Rugby Football Union (IRFU). Today they’ve unveiled the logo for next year’s showcase event.

They’ve also given us some key dates to look forward to: the WRWC starts August 9 at the University College Dublin (UCD), with semi-finals on August 22 at Queen’s University Sport (QUB) and Kingspan Stadium and the final will be August 26 at Kingspan Stadium, Belfast.

World Rugby Chairman Bernard Lapasset said: “The Women’s Rugby World Cup has evolved into a major global sporting event and is truly the pinnacle of the women’s 15s game.

“Following the outstanding success of Women’s Rugby World Cup 2014 in France, which engaged millions of fans and inspired so many girls around the world to get into rugby, the focus now turns towards 2017.

“Ireland has been very supportive of the women’s game and I have no doubt that Dublin and Belfast will host a fantastic tournament in August 2017.”


The logo marries a distinctly Irish flavour to the World Rugby tournament logo. The Celtic design, symbols and pattern represent the heritage of the whole island of Ireland while the four interwoven green strands represent the four provinces of Ireland and the close-knit relationship of rugby on the island.


12 May, 2016 – Tournament logo launched

9 November, 2016 – WRWC 2017 pool draw in Belfast

December 2016 – Final teams qualify for WRWC 2017

March 2017 – WRWC 2017 trophy tour commences

9 August, 2017 – Women’s Rugby World Cup 2017 begins at UCD, Dublin

22 August, 2017 – Semi-finals at QUB and Kingspan Stadium, Belfast

26 August, 2017 – WRWC 2017 final takes place at Kingspan Stadium, Belfast

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: