Women’s Rugby Rundown – A Preview of 2024’s Premier Events

In this Women’s Rugby Rundown, our focus turns to the highly anticipated premier events of 2024. Notably, the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Challenger and HSBC SVNS Series take center stage, each offering unique sets of dates and locations across the globe. The Challenger series includes stops in Dubai, Montevideo, Krakow, and Munich, while the SVNS Series features tournaments in Perth, Vancouver, Los Angeles, Hong Kong, Singapore, and concludes with the Grand Final in Madrid from May 31 to June 2. Additionally, the World Rugby Sevens Repechage Tournament in Monaco from June 21-23 will confirm the last team participating at the  Paris 2024 Olympics scheduled for July 24-30.

Looking beyond the realm of sevens, the Guinness Six Nations (March 23 – April 27) and the Europe Championships (February 2 – April 13) are set to contribute an additional layer of excitement. Stay tuned for the upcoming release of details for the WXV Tournament, as well as confirmation regarding the Africa Cup, Asia Championship, Oceania Championship, O’Reilly Cup, and any Unions organizing their own International Test matches.

World Rugby Sevens Challenger

The World Rugby HSBC Sevens Challenger 2024 kicks off at The Sevens Stadium in Dubai from January 12-14. This competition serves as a pathway to HSBC SVNS 2025, with the top four teams in both the men’s and women’s categories earning spots in the promotion and relegation play-off at the HSBC SVNS 2024 Grand Final in Madrid. The format mirrors the Olympic Games, featuring 12-team competitions divided into three pools. The Challenger series spans January to May, including combined events in Dubai and Montevideo, followed by standalone tournaments in Germany and Poland for men and women separately. 

Women’s Pools

Pool A: Belgium, Thailand, Papua New Guinea, Uganda
Pool B: China, Czechia, Mexico, Kenya
Pool C: Poland, Hong Kong China, Paraguay, Argentina

HSBC World Rugby Sevens Challenger 2024 dates:

Dubai, UAE – 12-14 January (men and women)
Montevideo, Uruguay – 8-10 March (men and women)
Krakow, Poland – 18-19 May  (women) 
Munich, Germany –18-19 May (men)


The 2023-24 HSBC SVNS Series underwent a significant transformation, featuring eight tournaments and including stops in Perth, Vancouver, Los Angeles, Hong Kong, Singapore, and concluding in Madrid. Unlike previous years, the overall men’s and women’s champions will only be revealed after the final tournament in June. In this revamped format, the top eight teams in each category, determined after seven rounds, will compete in two pools of four at Civitas Metropolitano Stadium, culminating in a grand final to determine the season champion.

Meanwhile, teams ranking ninth to 12th face a challenge to maintain their SVNS status in a separate tournament alongside the top four teams from the World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series 2024. Four men’s and four women’s teams will secure their places in SVNS 2025 through pool stages and play-off matches. The journey to qualify for Madrid via the Challenger Series kicks off in Dubai on January 12, featuring 12 men’s and 12 women’s teams in a competitive start to the season.


  • Australia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Fiji
  • France
  • Great Britain
  • Ireland
  • Japan
  • New Zealand
  • South Africa
  • Spain
  • USA

World Rugby Sevens Repechage Tournament

The Olympic Games Paris 2024 Rugby Sevens Repechage is scheduled from June 21 to June 23, 2024. This event will take place at Stade Louis II, which previously hosted final qualification events leading up to the Rio 2016 and Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

At this crucial stage, the final qualifiers for the Olympic Games Paris 2024 rugby sevens competition will be determined. The three-day competition, featuring 12 men’s and 12 women’s teams, is set to unfold from June 21 to June 23, 2024. 


  1. Americas
    1. Argentina
    2. Paraguay
    3. Mexico
    4. Jamaica
  2. Europe
    1. Poland
    2. Czechia
  3. Africa
    1. Kenya
    2. Uganda
  4. Oceania
    1. Papua New Guinea
    2. Samoa
  5. Asia
    1. China
    2. Hong Kong

Paris 2024 Olympics

The rugby sevens competitions at the 2024 Summer Olympics in Paris are set to take place from July 24 to July 30 at Stade de France. A total of twenty-four teams, divided equally between men and women, will vie for supremacy in their respective tournaments. In a historic shift, the rugby sevens matches will kick off two days before the opening ceremony, featuring the men’s preliminary and quarterfinal stages. The competition briefly pauses for the opening ceremony on July 26, leading to the official announcement of medal-winning teams a day later. The women’s tournament is scheduled from July 28 to July 30, concluding with the highly anticipated gold and bronze medal matches.


  • Host nation — France
  • 2022–23 World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series — New Zealand
  • Australia
  • United States
  • Ireland
  • 2023 South American Qualification Tournament — Brazil
  • 2023 European Games — Great Britain
  • 2023 RAN Women’s Sevens — Canada
  • 2023 Africa Women’s Sevens — South Africa
  • 2023 Oceania Women’s Sevens Championship — Fiji
  • 2023 Asian Qualification Tournament — Japan
  • Repechage – TBC

Guinness Women’s Six Nations

The 2024 Guinness Women’s Six Nations, featuring a new sponsor, will see competition among reigning champion England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland, and Wales. Scheduled to commence on March 23 and conclude on April 27, the tournament will showcase matches at Twickenham Stadium. Once again hosting a standalone Red Roses fixture in the 2024 Women’s Six Nations, Twickenham Stadium will witness Round 4 of the Championship on Saturday, April 20, as England faces Ireland (KO 14:15). The historic meeting with France at the home of English rugby last season drew a crowd of 58,498, witnessing England Women’s Grand Slam victory with a 38-33 score.

Europe Championships

The Rugby Europe Championship 2024 marks a historic moment as the competition expands to include four teams for the first time. Portugal’s promotion sees them join the Netherlands, Sweden, and defending champions, Spain. The tournament is scheduled to commence in February in Netherlands and conclude in December in Sweden.

And more…

We know there is more to come but we are awaiting details from various Unions. Anticipated updates include information about the WXV Tournament, Africa Cup, Asia Championship, Oceania Championship, O’Reilly Cup, and any International Test matches. Lots to come ahead of the 2025 Rugby World Cup in England.

We need you! Become a supporter of our site at https://www.patreon.com/yscrugby.

tl;dr: In 2024, the Women’s Rugby calendar is packed with exciting events. The HSBC World Rugby Sevens Challenger and HSBC SVNS Series span various locations from Dubai to Madrid. The World Rugby Sevens Repechage in Monaco will finalize the teams for the Paris 2024 Olympics. Beyond sevens, the Guinness Women’s Six Nations and Europe Championships promise additional excitement. Stay tuned for updates on the WXV Tournament, Africa Cup, Asia Championship, Oceania Championship, O’Reilly Cup, and International Test matches.

Women’s Rugby Rundown Video Update


Can’t watch on TikTok? Watch on Youtube or any of our other social media channels.

Subscribe to our weekly Women’s Rugby Rundown on Spotify, Apple Music, Youtube or Patreon and follow us on our socials for more women’s rugby news!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.