Women’s Rugby Sevens Summer Events: Road to Paris 2024

The women’s qualification process for the Olympic rugby sevens tournament began in November 2022 and will extend to June 2024, ensuring all six World Rugby zones will have a continental representation at the Olympic rugby sevens tournament. The Paris 2024 Olympic Games Rugby Sevens events will take place at the iconic Stade de France in Saint-Denis from July 24 to 31, with the women’s tournament following from July 29 to 31.

It is expected that all six World Rugby zones will be represented in the Olympic rugby sevens tournament. France, as the host nation, holds direct qualification, while the remaining quota spots will be distributed among eligible National Olympic Committees (NOCs).

The top four teams at the conclusion of the 2022–23 World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series will automatically secure spots for their respective NOCs in the Paris 2024 tournament. Additionally, six more spots will be awarded to the winning teams from each of the six confederations (Africa, Asia, Europe, Oceania, North America, and South America) during their designated 2023 World Rugby Regional Association Olympic Qualification Tournaments. To complete the field of twelve teams for Paris 2024, the last berth will be earned by the victor of the 2024 Final Olympic Qualification Tournament, which is scheduled to take place a month before the Games begin.

HSBC 7s Qualification

The 2022–23 World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series played a crucial role in determining the teams that directly secured spots for their respective NOCs in the Paris 2024 tournament. Host nation France pre-qualified, along with France, New Zealand, Australia, USA, and Ireland, thanks to their outstanding performances in that series.

South America

In June, Brazil emerged as the victors in the South America 7s tournament. Argentina and Paraguay, finishing second and third, respectively, sealed their places in the Final Qualification Tournament.


The European Games in Krakow marked a historic moment as rugby was included for the first time. Great Britain’s triumph secured direct qualification for the Paris 2024 Olympics, while Poland and Czechia earned spots in the Final Olympic Qualification Tournament.


Canada claimed victory in the Rugby Americas North (RAN) 7s tournament held in Langford, earning a direct entry to the 2024 Olympics. Mexico finished in second place, and Jamaica secured the third spot, both advancing to the Final Qualification Tournament next year.


The Rugby 7s competition at the 19th Asian Games is scheduled to take place from September 24 to 26, in Hangzhou, China. A total of 7 women’s sevens rugby teams are set to compete. In Pool E, teams Thailand, Kazakhstan, and China will vie for supremacy, while Pool F features Hong Kong, India, Japan, and Singapore in a fiercely competitive lineup.

Preceding the Asian Games, the Asia Rugby Sevens Series 2023 will have legs in South Korea and Thailand. Following the Asian Games, the 2024 Olympic Qualifiers for women’s rugby sevens will be hosted from November 18 to 19, 2023, at Mikuni World Stadium in Kitakyushu Fukuoka prefecture, Japan, providing a critical opportunity for women’s teams to secure their spots in the Paris 2024 Olympics.


The 2023 Africa Women’s Sevens, an annual African rugby sevens tournament, was held in July, where Zambia emerged as the gold medalist(s). Ghana secured the silver medal, while Zimbabwe claimed the bronze. Senegal, Ivory Coast, Algeria, Mauritius, Burkina Faso, Egypt, and DR Congo also participated in the tournament.

In the context of Olympic qualification, teams are seeded according to their performances in the previous championship. The top five teams from the previous championship will enter the main tournament, while the remaining ten will enter the qualifier. The Africa 7s Olympic Qualification tournament is scheduled for October 14 to 15, 2023, in Tunisia, promising intense competition as teams from across the continent vie for coveted Olympic berths. This represents another crucial step in Africa’s pursuit of Olympic glory in the sport of rugby sevens.


The Oceania Sevens Championship is set to take place from November 10 to 12, offering Oceania teams another chance to secure their spots in the Olympics.

Final Olympic Qualification Tournament

The Final Olympic Qualification Tournament will be the last chance for teams to secure their places in the Paris 2024 Olympics. The stakes are high as the journey to the ultimate sporting event nears its conclusion.

Final Olympic Qualification Tournament Teams

  1. Americas
    1. Argentina
    2. Paraguay
    3. Mexico
    4. Jamaica
  2. Europe
    1. Poland
    2. Czechia
  3. Africa
  4. Oceania
  5. Asia

Challenger Series

Teams that don’t secure spots in the 2024 Olympics or the Final Qualification Tournament will likely be part of the World Rugby Challenger Series. We’re eagerly anticipating information about the structure of the 2024 format.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: